Customising Shoes

Posted on December 20, 2011

0



For my first ‘How To’ I thought I would do something I had never done before. As I decided to buy my fancy dress Christmas costume this year I thought I would customise my shoes.

These were one of my favourite pairs of shoes until I ripped the heels. So before I start I will advise you to not try this with a new pair as I’m not sure if it can be undone. I am using shoes that I would’ve thrown away anyway.

For this customisation I used:

  • One pair of heels
  • Glittery card
  • Super glue
  • Double-sided tape
  • Scissors
  1. First you need to draw around the shape of the heel. There isn’t really an easy way to do this. I cut a piece of card big enough to go around the heel. Then traced it before cutting it out.
  2. Next you need to trace around the flat part of the heel, which is a lot easier.
  3. Once you have the two templates, you need to trace round them for the other heel.
  4. Then cover the plain side of the card in double-sided tape and stick it to the heel. It can be really fiddly, so I suggest you bend the card around the heel a few times before sticking it. Press down firmly.
  5. Cover the plain side of the other piece in double-sided tape and hold it onto the heel.
  6. To tidy it up I then cut out thin strips of the card for where the edges of the card joins.
  7. Either use the double-sided tape or super glue to fix these pieces of card to the heel. (I used tape)
  8. Then go around the edges of the card with super glue to make sure they are fully stuck.
  9. Repeat with the second shoe.

The reason I didn’t use super glue for the whole shoe was because double-sided tape is a lot easier to use and super glue can get messy. Also it if for any reason you want to take the card off the shoes it will be a lot easier to do so.

Obviously you don’t have to use glittery card. You could even try using material. But note that if you want to use patterns it may be hard to match them up.

Also remember it is card. So it wont last forever, and I would avoid the rain.

(pictures coming soon)

Posted in: DIY, Shopaholics