New Year’s Resolutions

Posted on January 1, 2012

0


Today is the first day of the New Year and I have started it as I mean to go on, calmly and chilled, although I don’t have much to be stressed out about yet. I’m quite skeptical of New Year’s resolutions. People make promises to themselves that they have no intention of keeping, like giving up chocolate, quitting drinking, losing weight, etc.

But this year I am using it as a starting point. This is the year I graduate and it’ll be the first time I have been out of education since I started school about 17 years ago. That is a scary thought. So instead of making ridiculous resolutions I wont stick to like cutting down on chocolate (never going to happen), I’m looking at what needs sorting in my life.

  1. First of all I need to graduate with a decent degree. That means hard work. I got a bit behind last term so I guess its time to knuckle down.
  2. Get a job, preferably a part-time job before I graduate to make some extra money. But I definitely need one as soon as possible after I graduate.
  3. Get out of my overdraft. I’m sure that as soon as I graduate the bank will be wanting that money back so I guess that goes back to getting a job.
  4. Figure out exactly what I’m doing career-wise. I still haven’t worked out exactly what I want to do, which isn’t great as graduation is getting closer and I don’t want University to be a total waste of time.
  5. Get fitter. Now this is usually the one that most people, including me, don’t stick to. But as I have actually found an exercise I like, Pole Fit, and stuck to it I have decided I can actually do this. I’m not planning on being a fitness freak or anything. But so many people I know want to tone up or get fitter,a nd do nothing about it.

So if you have something you really want to do, or there is something you want to change about yourself, the New Year can be a great starting point. Think, doing well at Uni (that’s what you are there for after all), getting a new hobby, giving up smoking, something that will make you happy. Forget the things that are out of your control, and if there is something you really want to do, do it.

I found this article – 14 New Year’s Resolutions for 2012 and 7 Tips For How-To Keep Them – and it’s not the usual useless babble. It sounds pretty good. Some of the solutions to keeping your resolution according to this are: start small, be specific, make a plan and positive reinforcement.

Now lets see if I can take my own advice….

