Ten Important Things Uni Has Taught Me

Posted on January 28, 2012

0



Being at uni has taught me so much, and I’m not just talking about my course. With the massive mix of people from everywhere with so many different interests it’s inevitable that you will learn a lot. I’ll start with the most important fact.

People pee in soap dispensers

In the first year of uni we had the best house parties that seemed to attract the strangest people. We had randomers sleeping in our bath, fire extinguishers being squirted up the stairs and someone urinated in our liquid soap. It is one of the grossest things I had ever heard. Luckily one of my housemates noticed (I don’t know how), and just in case we threw literally everything out of the bathroom, toothbrushes, soap, towels… and we bleached EVERYWHERE!

There will be a time when you hate everything and everyone

I can be the least social person ever at times. So when I started uni I decided to be a social butterfly. It didn’t last long. I went out up to 5 times a week for 2 or 3 months then crashed. I wanted to lock myself away from the world. I got ill because I wasn’t eating properly, sleeping properly and I was trying to get all of my work done. I hated the world. All of my new friends were like, “this isn’t like you at all!” But really I am not a social butterfly, I need a LOT of sleep and sometimes I just prefer to lock myself away and read a book. So don’t overdo it.

You will get very ill at some point

Whether it’s from too much drinking, no sleep, or just breathing in the germs of your fellow students, you will get ill. The best thing to do is always have a stock of painkillers, flu tablets, tissues and hot chocolate. Also, I suggest you have a little sympathy for your friends when they’re ill. I took my friend throat sweets and food when she was ill, and she returned the favour when I was inevitably ill. It also helps to have a friend that brings you chocolate.

Banter

I know it’s not just a thing amongst uni students. But it seemed to get popular as I was coming to uni. It’s just an excuse for people to be obnoxious and I hate it.

So many people

As I already said, I’m not the most social person. But I still seem to have quite a few friends at uni. Even the most horrible or annoying people seem to make loads of friends. You have the friends on your course, the guys you live with, the ones you drink with, if you’re in a society or club, the randomers you met around the uni etc. I don’t remember where I met most of the people I say hi to around uni. But one things for sure, you will always have someone you can call up to go for a drink, and you should make some of those ‘forever friends’ they tell you about when you’re applying for uni.

Our Christmas house-family photo

You talk funny

Because there are so many different people from different places sometimes I think, I don’t understand you at all. It sounds like some people are speaking a different language sometimes. I have regularly been told that I say ‘cow’ weirdly, and being from near Wolverhampton I don’t have the best accent. But luckily for me it isn’t as strong as some. I was amused when I first got to University and someone didn’t know what a Tip Top was. It’s the same as a freeze pop apparently. But how much better does Tip Top sound?

Procrastination

It is the best and worst time when you really need to finish an essay/revise and it’s just not happening. Facebook, Twitter, Smartphones, Takeaways and friends, they all tools of procrastination. But it’s a vital part of uni life. I know I’m not the only one who works better under pressure. If I finish an essay weeks before it’s due I just keep going back to it, which can be good up to a point, until it starts to drive me crazy. So a bit of procrastination beforehand eliminates the need to go crazy later on.

From 10 Best Procrastination Techniques for Writers

You can’t walk through a McDonald’s Drive-thru

You know those times when you get a great idea to go get food at 1 in the morning after drinking? This was one of those times. Late at night the Maccies near me at Uni is Drive-thru only. Me and my friends decided to walk in the pouring rain, only to find that they wouldn’t serve us because we weren’t in a car. The guy actually suggested that we asked the creepy guy in the white van if he would order for us. So we had a genius idea, call a taxi. So we got soaked waiting for a taxi. But finally, yes we did get our McNuggets finally!

I don’t know if this is the same for all McDonald’s because one of my friends said they got served at a Drive-thru once.

Find a hangover food

Mine is Subway. The strange thing is the smell of Subway used to make me feel sick. Also, I hate the whole ‘making your own sandwich’ thing. It seems like a lot of stress for a sandwich. But one hazy morning some of my friends dragged me to Subway, and now it has to be my official hangover food. Plus, the meatballs in a tub are amazing!

If I’m too lazy to walk the five minutes to Subway there is a sandwich shop across the road. So really, any kind of unhealthy sandwich is my hangover food. 🙂

You can do it… Eventually

No matter how long that essay is taking it will get done, mainly because it has to. At times I think, never. But in a few months I graduate, because if not, I’ll have wasted 3 years of my life. I’m the kind of person that thinks, if you hate something that much don’t do it. In some situations you have to do things you don’t like to progress. But if you don’t want it that much don’t bother. If you do, then you can do it.

Posted in: Student Life