What Do I Want To Be When I Grow Up

Posted on February 1, 2012

0



As I’m getting to the last few months of university I still can’t quite work out what I want to do career-wise. I know I want to write and I feel like I’ve looked at thousands of jobs. But none have jumped out at me. I’m not sure if I’m looking for too much, and maybe I should be looking for stepping-stones to what I’ll want in the future. It got me thinking about different times when I have had to decide, what’s next?

At school when I was choosing my GCSE subjects I just chose what I was good at and liked. I didn’t really think about what I could do with them in the future.

When I was choosing what I wanted to do at college I went with the same theory, what do I like and what am I good at? I was always good at Maths, but found it extremely boring; I was alright at English and did really well in History and Child Development. That didn’t help at all. I chose to do Media because I thought it kept my options open.

Then it came to choosing a University course. Since I can remember I have always wanted to go to University. I finally decided that I wanted to be a Journalist. I chose Music Journalism because I like music. Although I don’t want to be a Music Journalist now (so many music snobs out there) I’m glad I chose it. But it still doesn’t help. What next?

My tutor thinks it’s good that I can cross things off my list that I don’t like (He also says I’m too indecisive). But the list seems endless. Can you really spend your whole life crossing things off until you find that ‘perfect job?’ I suddenly feel in a rush to find MY thing. But I don’t feel old enough to decide what I’m going to be doing for the foreseeable future.

My parents tell me to do something I enjoy, and they have changed what they’re doing quite a lot. I guess that just because you like something now, it doesn’t mean that you’ll want to do it forever. The job search continues.

So what do you want to be when you grow up?

Posted in: Student Life