University Memes

Posted on February 27, 2012

0



Every so often a new craze sweeps the University world. I remember when I first started at Staffs Uni. The first thing I heard about was ‘The Lying Down Game.’ Long story short, it seemed to get a lot of people in trouble and fizzled out. Plus someone died playing the Australian equivalent, ‘Planking.’

Now these new University Memes (apparently can be pronounced ‘meems’ or ‘mems’) have appeared. At first I was quite confused But I thought I should at least do one post about them. They just looked like terribly photoshopped pictures to me. After some googling I found out that a Meme is ‘an idea or element of social behaviour passed on through generations in a culture, esp by imitation.’ (From Dictionary.com)

So that actually means that the Lying Down Game was a Meme. But now as far as I can see, these University Memes are just like a private joke for each University. The ones from Staffordshire University are quite funny. But even I don’t get some of them and it’s my Uni.

There are a couple of different types of memes. I was trying to find some that people, other than Staffs Uni students, would get. Do you find these funny? I had a bit of a giggle but I can’t help but think that they are a bit juvenile for University students.

You can make your own at: uthinkido.com

To be honest, these weird people (Y U NO guys) creep me out.

(Pictures from Stafforshire Uni Memes)

 Fun fact for you: Did you know that the earliest know Facebook page for University Memes was created for Florida International University of Miami on October 1st, 2011? This was the first picture, the first ever meme apparently.

As if us students don’t have enough to keep up procrastinating instead of doing our work. But, I wonder how long these funny pictures will last before someone gets offended or they get boring. I’ve already heard of people who ‘just don’t get it’ making up memes that don’t make sense. But I really couldn’t tell you which ones are right and which are wrong (like I’m not sure if the one at the top of the page is right, the dog is adorable though).

Here’s some more info about University Memes if you want to know more about them – Facebook University Meme Pages.

Posted in: Student Life