Students Can’t Sleep?

Posted on March 1, 2012

0



Walking through campus a couple of days ago I was asked, “How do you sleep?”

Like a lot of students I’m sure, the answer was not very well. Whether it’s exam or work worries, late nights out or noisy neighbours, we all have our sleep problems at some point.

The man who asked me was from Sleep Right, ‘Staffordshire University’s guide to better sleep.’ He told me a few interesting things about sleeping, like if you sleep on your front you are more prone to wrinkles, and lying on your back is the best position to sleep in.

There is a list of Handy Tips on the Sleep Right website as well as a Good Sleep Guide to download, which are both worth reading if you can’t sleep.

He also gave me a CD of music to aid sleep. Other than falling asleep with my earphones on, I’ve never tried listening to music to help me sleep before. This gave an idea, starting with this CD, to do a video diary of myself trying out different sleep remedies.

Although different things work for different people, it should hopefully give you some help and advice on getting to sleep. With any luck, it should help me get a better night’s sleep too.

I also read an interesting blog post about sleeping positions. What Your Sleeping Position Says About You.

Personally I mostly sleep in the foetus position, and to be honest this does sound quite like me.

“The Foetus: Those who curl up in the foetus position are described as tough on the outside but sensitive at heart. They may be shy when they first meet somebody, but soon relax. Sleeping on your left side can cause stress on your vital organs (liver, stomach, lungs).” (Taken from BBC Health and Men’s Health)

Keep checking back for the video diaries – Day 1: Relaxing Music

