Student Fees Rise: Would You Have Still Gone to Uni?

Posted on April 27, 2012

0



As I have said in previous posts, I am one of those people who have always wanted to go to University. Although I can’t say for definite, I’m pretty sure that I still would have gone to University regardless of the fees.

I asked current and former students of thestudentroom.co.uk and Facebook whether the rise in fees would have changed their decision. Out of 103, 75 said that they would have still gone to University, 21 said that they wouldn’t, and 7 weren’t sure.

I know that surveying just over 100 people isn’t conclusive, but the numbers aren’t exactly close. I don’t think saying that the rise is discouraging students is right, not that I agree with the  fees (I would be very worried to have triple the debt I have now).

First of all, to the parents that say they can’t afford to send their kids to University have either been misinformed or weren’t paying attention. Students get loans for living costs and fees. If students don’t have enough money they should get a job. I know plenty of people who have survived through University without getting one.

Second of all, from Martin’s Money TipsWhether you choose a course that costs £6,000 or £9,000 you’ll repay the same amount each month, as that purely depends on what you earn (9% above £21,000). Of course, the more you borrow the longer you’ll be repaying. Yet it’s worth noting that, as many people won’t finish repaying before the 30 years is up unless you’re a higher earner, picking a course with higher fees won’t actually cost you more.”

Also, the amount of people applying to University hasn’t dropped that much. More people applied this year than in 2009.

From: www.guardian.co.uk/news/datablog/2012/jan/30/university-applications-subjects-age-poverty#applications

Anyway, back on subject, I don’t believe that the rise in student fees has discouraged people who were serious about going to University in the first place. Some people surveyed agree – “It wouldn’t, the re-payment process is well detailed and fairly structured, so long as you’re educated on the details of the bill and its implications you should be of the same opinion.” (Anonymous quote)

But, as I found out when I got to Uni, some people go just for the lifestyle, and £9,000 a year is definitely too much to drink your days away. The same goes for those who don’t know what they want to do in life.

But bringing up this subject has raised some other issues. Some people aren’t happy with their course at £3,000 a year let alone £9,000. – An anonymous student from my survey said, “I probably would not have gone, especially if I knew then what I know now, I don’t personally think that what I am getting is worth the 3k a year, let alone 9k!”

Maybe the rise in fees will force Universities to better themselves to prove that they are worth the money. Plus maybe now they’ll get rid of the lazy students and time wasters. 🙂

What are your views?

(Picture from the student protests – http://dawnannieobrien.wordpress.com/category/student-fees/)

