Freshers: How To Stop Yourself From Burning Out

Posted on September 26, 2012

0


As I have said before (and I will probably say a million times again) I am very jealous of those of you who have started University this year. But I remember getting to about mid-November and thinking, “I can’t do this anymore.”

Like a lot of Freshers, I only turned 18 a couple of months before starting University and I wasn’t expecting to go out so much. With the overflow of work and alcohol, it got a bit much for me and I decided to hibernate for a couple of weeks. I even got my parents to pick me up when I got the flu. I felt like such a baby.

After Christmas I was fine. But I don’t think I drank much at New Year.

The main advice I can give you so the same doesn’t happen to you is that you don’t have to go out to every event, every nightclub and every house party. That brings up another piece of advice: go to other people’s house parties, don’t have your own. The mess afterwards and tidying up when you’re hung-over is not fun.

Anyway, another point I have always tried to push onto everyone, not just students, always have painkillers, hot lemon powder, throat sweets, etc., in the house. The last thing you want to do is go out in the cold when you’re ill. I had a nice friend who would always bring me food and painkillers when I was ill, and I always returned the favour.

Picture from: http://primaveraluna.blogspot.co.uk

Another thing that usually seems like a good idea is late-night study sessions. I don’t know what it is about work, but it seems so much easier to do at some ridiculous time of night. As the library at my University is open 24 hours a day, the students took advantage of this. But in the morning, when you have to go to a lecture or exam, you’ll feel the effects. There are only so many caffeine tablets you can take, and cups of coffee you can force down. So I would save the late-night studies for emergencies.

cram-for-exam-blog1.jpg

Picture from: Cramming: 3 dumb things to avoid

The last thing I have to say as a graduate is it’s ok to go crazy sometimes, and I bet you will (or already have). University isn’t going to last forever so make the most of it.

